Bermuda Dietitians Association and Argus announce first-ever ‘School Nutrition Champions’

Posted by on Apr 11, 2013 in Local News & Alerts | 0 comments

Representatives of Bermuda Dietitians Association; the Hon. Patricia Gordon-Pamplin, MP, JP, Minister of Health; and representatives from the Argus donations committee; pictured with the winners of the inaugural School Nutrition Champions competition.

Bermuda Dietitians Association (BDA), in partnership with Argus, today announces the winners of the inaugural ‘School Nutrition Champions’ competition. BDA designed the competition as part of its Nutrition Month activities to help inform children and their families about healthy eating and increase public awareness of Bermuda’s daily dietary and physical exercise guidelines.

The competition challenged children to develop a promotional piece of work – such as a poster, photograph, song, poem or music video – to promote to the public at least five healthy statements from the Eat Well Bermuda daily dietary guidelines. These guidelines include choosing lean meat, fish, poultry and eggs prepared with little or no fat; limiting foods with added salt and sugar, and enjoying a variety of foods with plenty of different colours. The guidelines and Eat Well Plate illustration, which launched in March 2012, can be found in full at:


The competition attracted entries from 70 students across two age categories that were judged by members of the Bermuda Dietitians Association who selected the winners that most clearly and creatively communicated the dietary guidelines.

First Place in the P1-3 age group poster competition went to the P1 and P2 students at Dalton E. Tucker School: Mikael Augustus, El’Zariyah Bailey, Lakai Drummond, Jamar Franklin, Johnnarin Harris, Dylan Ingham, S’Niyah Lightbourne, Sokiera Mosley-Lee, Alina Trew-Perez, Ke Ari Tucker, ShawnTroy Chaney, Ethan Clarke, Kanye Ford, Aaron Harris, Kameron McNeil, Zyon Ray, Lexxs Steede, Ava Stowe, Zane Thompson and S K Yatindar. While in the P4-6 age group Cree Dunn from Harrington Sound Primary School scooped the top prize.

For their lively video entry, the P4 class at Prospect Primary School also won a prize: Csvanni Brown, Malsha Amarsinghe, Xylience Smith, Armani Brandy, Alayasia Swan, Angelina Chandrasekaran, Shirley Wilkinson, Alziae Burgess, Ande Simons, Qusaee Daniels, Timaris Thomas, Te’Shon Wales-Smith, Tahzii Flood, Khamanie Pitt-Nisbitt, A’vari Raynor-Hall, Dante Scraders, Wyniko Showers.

In addition, the public voted Malsha Amarasinghe from Prospect Primary School as the winner of the Argus People’s Choice Award. The winners all received a trophy and money to buy classroom supplies.

Tony Ward, President of Bermuda Dietitians Association, says: “I would like to congratulate the first-ever ‘School Nutrition Champions’ and thank everyone who took part and made the competition a success. The standard of entries was very high and all of the entries succeeded in promoting the Eat Well Bermuda guidelines in a creative and engaging way. I would also like to thank Argus and The Supermart for their support.”


Alison Hill, Chief Executive Officer, the Argus Group, says: “We were delighted to support Bermuda Dietitians Association with the launch of this new competition. ‘School Nutrition Champions’ is about promoting healthy lifestyle choices to children and the community at large and this is also the goal of the Argus Wellness Programme. Coupled with regular exercise, the Eat Well Bermuda guidelines make it easy for people to get on the right track towards feeling and looking healthier.”

The Minister of Health and Seniors, the Hon. Patricia Gordon-Pamplin JP MP said: “I wish to thank both Argus and the Bermuda Dietitians Association for organising this competition, which has proven to be an innovative way of creating public awareness of Bermuda’s daily dietary guidelines and of the importance of healthy eating habits.  We all need to be aware of how what we eat impacts our health, and the daily dietary guidelines are an essential tool in increasing awareness.”

All of the competition entries can be viewed at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>